Home » Uncategorized » The One

The One

Does his laughter warm my body from the inside out? He knows that when I say two scoops I really mean three, right? Can I dance in his living room while drinking wine? I hope so, and I hope we’re both drunk and laughing so hard we cry. Does he tell me how beautiful I am, and if yes, does he say it when the morning light is falling upon my face? More importantly, when he tells me, do I believe him? Can I cry in front of him? I hope I can, because that would mean I truly trust him. When he asks me what I want for dinner and I say I’m not hungry, does he ask me if I’ve eaten today? And when I say I had breakfast, does he make me a bowl of rice, because that’s my favorite comfort food? Does he kiss me good morning? Good night? Just because? Do I know how he likes his coffee? Do I know when he prefers tea to coffee? Have I figured out where he’s ticklish? I won’t let him convince me that he’s not, because I bet he is. Have I frustrated the hell out of him yet? I will, oh I will, but it’s how the two of us come out of it that matters. And when he says he loves me for the very first time, will I respond by asking him if he’s afraid of heights? I hope with my entire soul that he says yes because that will mean, despite his fear, he has fallen for me.

Then and only then, will I know with all certainty, that he is…The One.

Leave a Reply

