Home » Uncategorized » Daddy’s Little Girl

Daddy’s Little Girl

This all stands true right to this day…

Daddy take me with you,
I promise I’ll be good.
Daddy, this is next time,
And Mama said I could.
Sitting in the front seat, riding downtown,
For an ice cream cone, I’d wrap him around ~
My little fingers, tighter than my baby curls.
You can make a tear go a long, long way when you’re~
Daddy’s little girl.

Walking down the isle,
My eyes on Mr. Right.
My bouquet was shaking,
But Daddy held on tight.
Taking those last steps, Daddy and me,
From the child to the woman I’d be.
With a diamond on my finger,
And my mama’s string of pearls.
He gave me away ’cause I couldn’t stay ~
Daddy’s little girl

Well, he taught me my bible,
From seven to thirteen.
Taught me to drive when I was a wild thing.
I reached and he prayed when I made some mistakes,
That I wouldn’t have made if I’d’ve done it his way.

Now he hugs me when he sees me,
We talk about the past.
He tries to give me money,
And I try to give it back.
He’s a book of advice,
More than I need.
The look in his eyes,
As he’s saying to me ~
Let me help you while I can
While I’m still in this world.
What will you do when your Daddy’s gone ~
And you’re Daddy’s little girl…

What’ll I do when my daddy’s gone?

~ Kippi Brannon

wpid-10427215_10152235336396633_9208807624286341871_n.jpg

Leave a Reply

