Home » Uncategorized » Me + Pennsylvania = Never Again

Me + Pennsylvania = Never Again

Hi friends,

I couldn’t be happier to say that I have landed in Monroe, MI…home to my beautiful family! I won’t get to see them tonight as I did get here late and everyone is working however tomorrow will be the day!

So I woke up early this morning (that damn excitement again) and went to the Cracker Barrel again for breakfast. I think I was one of ten people there and was seated at a quiet table in the corner. My waitress came over to take my order (older woman) and instinctively asked me where I was headed. I told her my plan and her eyes got teary. She asked if she could sit and of course I insisted. She explained how that was something she had always wanted to do but life simply would always get in the way and now, at her age, she still feels a void because she never put herself first. She went on for several minutes about how proud my parents must be (knowing I wasn’t married) that I was on this journey. I then explained that tomorrow it will be 12 years since I lost my Mom but without saying it, I know my Dad is not only amazed at my determination but super proud that I haven’t given up on my recovery even though TMS is through. This just made her even more emotional and she reached across the table for my hand and told me how brave I was and that she wished she could turn back time for herself. Then she stood up, gave me a hug and came back with $40 for my costs. She also said breakfast was “on her.”

This is what this trip is all about, ya know. Touching people, engaging in conversation, connecting not only with myself but others. That conversation hit a deep part of me. I got back on 80W and realized I didn’t even know her name. That stung.

And then there was Pennsylvania.

What a horrible, awful, disgusting, ridiculous state that is! When Google told me I would be on that route for the next 289 miles I swear I almost threw up. Before I forget, I would like to take a moment to thank the following:

Staind, Lita Ford, Poison, Scars on 45, Def Leppord and Aaron Lewis.

Without them, who knows where I would be right now. Seriously.

I was driving along and it started to rain a little, then pour, then….snow? Oh yeah, full white out vision. Nothing was sticking to the ground but I couldn’t see a damn thing. Talk about setting me back in time? It did push back my arrival time quite a bit but I’m at ease that I’m here in this beautiful hotel room snuggled up. After driving for nine hours today I’m pooped.

I have so much on my mind after that long boring drive but I think I’ll wait until tomorrow to share my deepest thoughts.

Light & Love,

Kristen

Leave a Reply

